Category Archives: Memorable Meals

I love this flavor combination–beef with spinach and mushrooms–and I’m always dreaming up new ways to use it in recipes. This is easy to put together. You can make it up to the point of baking for a “make ahead meal” or you can bake it and freeze it for a dinner later in the month. Or, of course, you can eat it tonight. Which is exactly what we did. Prep Time: About 20 minutes Cook Time: 25 to 30 … continued…

Beef Mushroom Spinach Lasagna
Barb Freda Cool Weather Cooking Entertaining Ideas Healthy, Delicious Recipes Memorable Meals

Did your favorite blog post make this list? If not, share the link in the comments section below. 1. Keeping Potted Rosemary Healthy All Year www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/keeping-potted-rosemary-healthy-all-year/ 2. Slow Cooker Beef Goulash www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/slow-cooker-beef-goulash/ 3. “Milanesa:” Oven “fried” Steak from Argentina www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/milanesa-oven-fried-steak-argentina/ 4. Unstuffed Cabbage www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/unstuffed-cabbage/ 5. Italian Wedding Soup www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/italian-wedding-soup/ 6. Beef and Vegetable Soup www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/beef-and-vegetable-soup/ 7. Meatballs and Eggplant with Fresh Mozzarella www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/meatballs-and-eggplant-with-fresh-mozzarella/ 8. Slow Cooker BBQ www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/slow-cooker-bbq/ 9. Beef Tortilla Soup www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/beef-tortilla-soup/ 10. How to Make a Burlap Wreath … continued…

DIY Healthy, Delicious Recipes Memorable Meals Tips, Tools & Techniques

This is a one-skillet dish, which is always a plus in my book. As the steaks brown, slice the onions and mushrooms. Be gentle about adding the liquids and vegetables to the skillet–it’s important to keep the cracker crumbs high and dry so they are nice and crispy when you slice into the steaks.   Prep Time: 5 minutes Cook Time: 20 minutes Serves 4   1 Tablespoon extra virgin olive oil 4 (4-ounce) Laura’s Lean Beef Sirloin Steaks 2 … continued…

Loaded Sirloin Steak
Barb Freda Cool Weather Cooking Healthy, Delicious Recipes Holiday Cooking Memorable Meals

Everyone should know how to make a good, classic roast. After lots of trial and error with different methods, I’ve adopted the techniques from Cook’s Illustrated, which does most of the cooking at a low temperature and finishes the roast high for a brief period. This produces a moist, cooked-to-medium-rare roast that can’t be beat. Prep Time: 20 minutes Cook Time: 1 hour Serves 8 (makes about 3 cups gravy)   1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil 1 2-pound Laura’s Lean … continued…

Roast Beef Eye of Round with Gravy
Barb Freda Healthy, Delicious Recipes Holiday Cooking Memorable Meals

This simple wrapped steak is proof positive that simple, delicious ingredients–just a few of them–add up to one delicious dish. Smoked prosciutto, also known as “speck” is easy to find in the deli section of most grocery stores. A little bit of speck goes a long way in this recipe, which shows off the beauty of a Laura’s Lean Beef Sirloin. Prep time: About 5 minutes Cook time: About 10 minutes (to desired degree of doneness) Serves 4   1 … continued…

Prosciutto wrapped Steak
Barb Freda Healthy, Delicious Recipes Memorable Meals Summer Grilling

This is a lighter way to make meatloaf–combining lean beef with ground turkey, old-fashioned oats, and some traditional spices. I shape this into two loaves and bake them out of loaf pans in order to get maximum crust. You could also make one, larger loaf and top it with a blend of ketchup, brown sugar and mustard for a sweet topping so many people know and love. (Note: if you do use a single loaf pan, you’ll have to increase … continued…

Oatmeal Meatloaf
Barb Freda Healthy, Delicious Recipes Holiday Cooking Memorable Meals

I love mixing fruit flavors with mustard – especially with fruit that is coming into season. If you are lucky, you’ve already gotten to enjoy some early peaches. I gave the flank steak a similar treatment to cooking brisket, but faster. If you want to really play on the peach theme, grill or broil some fresh peach halves to serve alongside of the steak. Prep time: about 5 minutes Cook time: 25 minutes Serves 6   1 Laura’s Lean Beef … continued…

Flank Steak with Mustard and Peach
Barb Freda Healthy, Delicious Recipes Memorable Meals

This is our take on a classic. Helpful hint: use soft corn tortillas, not flour tortillas, which get gummy in the soup. The tortilla strips act like noodles. I love using corn on the cob and getting a little extra flavor from the cobs themselves, but you don’t have to do this. A drained can of corn will serve in place of corn on the cob. Prep Time: About 15 minutes Cook Time: About 20 minutes Serves 8 1 tablespoon … continued…

Beef Tortilla Soup
Barb Freda Healthy, Delicious Recipes Heart Healthy Memorable Meals

Did your favorite blog post make this list? If not, please share the link in the comments section below.   Top New Recipes: 1. Laura’s Lean Beef One Skillet Meal http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/lauras-lean-beef-one-skillet-meal/ 2. Slow cooker Italian Beef With Porcini Mushrooms http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/slow-cooker-italian-beef/ 3. Oktoberfest Laura’s Lean Beef Beer Stew http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/oktoberfest-lauras-lean-beef-beer-stew/ 4. Hobo “Stew” http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/hobo-stew/ 5. Baked Cheeseburgers http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/lauras-lean-beef-baked-cheeseburger/ 6. Spaghetti and Meatball “Muffins” http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/lauras-lean-beef-spaghetti-and-meatball-muffins/ 7. Cottage Pie with Sweet Potato Topping http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/cottage-pie-with-sweet-potato-topping/ 8. Triple Decker Meatloaf http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/triple-decker-meatloaf/ 9. Fat Tuesday Jambalaya http://www.laurasleanbeef.com/blog/fat-tuesday-jambalaya/ … continued…

Best Blogs of 2012
Barb Freda Fitness Foodie Crafts Gardening Healthy Habits Healthy, Delicious Recipes Jenny Kramer, RD Judy Eggebeen Memorable Meals Pam Freeman Snacks Tips, Tools & Techniques

This is a simple dish to make ahead and just heat up when it is time for dinner. It doubles easily for company–the surprise of the sweet potatoes for the top of this dish (instead of the more expected white potato topping) makes it a beautiful dish. This recipe is proof that sometimes the simplest of flavors come together in the simplest of ways for something sublime. Prep time: 10 minutes Cook time: 15 minutes stove top, 25 minutes in … continued…

Cottage Pie plated
Barb Freda Cool Weather Cooking Entertaining Ideas Memorable Meals