Pam Freeman

A work-from-home mother of two girls ages 6 and 9, Pam Freeman is a journalism major who loves to write about her experiences with her kids, gardening and home keeping. In addition to her two daughters, she spends her days raising a flock of 14 chickens along with 7 cats, a dog, a turtle and some fish. And she loves it!

Q: How do you take your coffee?
A: I’m not a coffee drinker; I like caffeine-free herbal tea.

Q: What do you always keep in your refrigerator?
A: Fresh eggs from my backyard chickens.

Q: What kitchen tool or gadget to most closely relate to and why?
A: A kitchen timer since I’m the gatekeeper and planner for my family.

Q: What do you do for exercise?
A: I walk with my dog at our local park and use my stationary bike during bad weather. In the summer, I swim in our backyard pool.

Q: What’s the last book you read?
A: The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan. (What can I say, I’ve got kids!)

Q: Next book on the list?
A: I’m going to borrow Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith from my sister. She just doesn’t know it yet.

Q: Pet peeve?
A: My kids and husband leaving their stuff all over the house. I wish they’d pick it up!

Q: What would you do if you had the time?
A: I’d travel more.

Q: How do you recharge your batteries?
A: Take a day-trip bird watching with my family or go shopping with friends. I also love to work in my herb garden.

Q: Where did you learn life’s greatest lessons?
A: Becoming a parent. It really refocuses your priorities.

Q: Do you have any pets? If so, what kind?
A: We have 7 cats (4 indoor, 3 outdoor), a dog, turtle and some fish. I also raise a flock of backyard chickens.

Q: If you could work anywhere in the world, where would it be?
A: Alaska appeals to me. I’ve never been, but the wildlife seems incredible.